Why I make my bed every day – and you should too!


I have found that no matter my mood in the morning I am never tempted to skip my morning ablution. But I am often lured into not making my bed, especially when I am feeling down and out. So why is making my bed such a big deal? I have asked myself that question a number of times……. I don’t really know ……. what I do know is that when I make my bed the rest of my day goes better …. I have more energy …. I am more positive …. I can cope with the stresses of everyday life a great deal better.
I suppose it could be because making the bed is a step that’s quick and easy, yet makes a big difference….. everything looks neater ….. it’s easier to find my cell charger….. my bedroom is a more peaceful environment ….. and most importantly, for me, outer order contributes to inner calm…….. because my brain is always on overdrive, I get exhausted ….. knowing that I can control my action is a great relief and a great energy booster……. not to mention the great sleep I will have that night in a neat and clean bed ……..
Second, sticking to any resolution – no matter what it is – brings satisfaction. When I make a decision to change something and I stick to it, I feel strong…. able to conquer the world ….. because making my bed is one of the first things I do in the morning, I start the day feeling efficient, productive, and disciplined.
And that is happiness….
As Kevin Spacey says in Shrink, ‘Happiness is a word for a feeling – feelings are rarely understood in the moment’ and in that moment I don’t need to understand, I just feel happy …. which sets my mood for the rest of the day…. and you see it is easier to maintain a mood than to get into a new one ….. when I am happy I am releasing serotonin, the feel good hormone, which allows me to feel creative and strong…. and in that state nothing is impossible ….. I can conquer the world because I have conquered myself …… and all that because I spent five minutes in the morning to make my bed….
Do you know of a better return on investment? If you do I would love to hear from you……

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

